A NAMES FROM ALLIFAIR to AYELET

image by: sewcrafts 

Some rare, offbeat, and unheard of A names that I’ve seen recently in birth announcements.  My favorites off this list are Allifair and Atlas.  What are yours?

ACHILLES:       Another Greek Mythology name that was used over 100 times last year.  Achilles is known for his valor and manly beauty and that pesky problem with his heel, but I still get a little chuckle every time I think of someone calling Achilles to dinner.

ADDIE:   Although not in the Top 1000, Addie is far more popular than her ranking because she is used as a nickname for Addison & Adelaide.

ALCINA: Italian poet Ludovico Ariosto used this name for a mistress of alluring enchantments and sensual pleasures in the 16th century Orlando poems. She is also a sorceress who rules over a magical island in Greek Mythology.

ALLIFAIR: A old timey name used occasionally in the late 19th century.  The most well know seems to be Allifair McCoy, who was killed in the Hatfield-McCoy feud.  There’s also a mystery writer named Alafair Burke

ALSTON: A surname, plus a place name with several cities in Canada,  United Kingdom, and the United States bearing the name.

AMETHYST:  The birthstone for February used as a given name.

ANNALEE:  This smoosh of a name is just below the Top 1000, but given the popularity of Anna names, I see her being on the list next year when the stats are released.  ANNABETH is also being used.

ANNESSAMAY:  Cousin to Renesmee.

ANNORA:  With Nora breaking into the top 200 (currently at #159) more parents may turn to this name.

ARBOR:  A nature name.  Do you like this better for a boy or a girl?

ARLIS:  This old-fashioned name is almost gone.  He was used just six times last year.  Do you think it could have a resurgence or will he soon be gone for good.  

ARNES:  A last name used as a rare first.

ASLAN:  Fans of The Chronicles of Narnia

ATHEN:  Athens without the ‘s’.  This fits right in with Aiden, Braden, Caden, & Jayden, but without the popularity.

ATLAS: A celebrity baby name, a Greek Mythology name, & a book of maps. 

AUGUSTINE: With August and Augustus being used, maybe Augustine will get some action.  It can be used as a boy or a girl’s name.

AVERIEN:  With the name Avery being taken over by the girls, someone thought of Averien. 

AYELET: Hebrew name meaning “gazelle”. 

 Other A names I’ve spotted are ALISETTE, ANETH, ARMIA, ATSLAN, & AVEYA for girls and ANDELSON, ALANO, ARTEZ, ATHIY, & AYRITXEL.

7 responses to “A NAMES FROM ALLIFAIR to AYELET

  1. I think Atlas is such a cool name for a boy.

    It looks like Augustine only fell out of the top 1000 for boys in the mid 1980’s so perhaps it could come back. It sounds more girlish to me though than August and Augustus although I have seen August suggested for a girl too.

    I can’t decide on Arbor at all. Babycenter reports a few girl births and lists it as female as does Nameberry. I guess I am neutral on it 🙂

    • I’ve seen at least one boy with the name Arbor, but I think there were only 5 girls born last years named Arbor. I think it would work on either.

      I thought girl too with I saw Augustine, but when I looked up the stats, more boys than girls were given that name.

  2. I love the idea of using Amethyst. Ayelet looks pretty, but I always worry that I’m saying it wrong (just checked and I am saying her wrong).

  3. I’ve always thought of Amethyst as a pretty name.

    I’ve seen boys called Atlas and Augustine this year – they are growing on me.

    As an Anna, I loathe it paired with Lee – it just looks like a rude word to me.

    Arbour seems slightly more boy to me, but I do think that’s a true unisex name. Maybe in the US, more feminine, because of Ann Arbor in Michigan??? (is that crazy logic?)

  4. There are some beautiful name sin this post!

Leave a Reply

